Chair: Barrie O'Shea c/o Governor Services 222 Upper Street London N1 1XR

## **SCHOOLS FORUM**

MEETING DATE	Thursday 17 January 2019
AGENDA ITEM 3	Membership update
RECOMMENDATIONS	That members note the update on membership and the terms of office and extensions.

## 1. Update on membership and vacancies.

- 1.1. Since the last meeting held on 29 November 2018, the following vacancies have been filled:
  - 1.1.1. Primary head teacher Cassie Moss, Yerbury Primary School
  - 1.1.2. Secondary governor Paul Lasok, St Aloysius
  - 1.1.3. Special School head teacher Francis McDonald-Gonzalez, Richard Cloudesley
  - 1.1.4. Secondary Academy Matt Little, Vice-principal, COLA Highbury Grove.
- 1.2. The following vacancies remain unfilled:
  - 1.2.1. Primary head teacher
  - 1.2.2. Secondary head teacher
- 1.3. The following members' terms of office are due to end before the end of March 2019:
  - 1.3.1. Barrie O'Shea Primary head teacher and Chair 19/01/19
  - 1.3.2. Jo Dibb Secondary head teacher and Vice-chair 19/01/19
  - 1.3.3. Penny Barratt Special Academy rep 17/02/19 (extended one year Feb 18)
  - 1.3.4. Fiona Godfrey Nursery head 25/03/19
  - 1.3.5. Lisa Horton Primary head 31/03/19 (extended to end March 19)
  - 1.3.6. Abi Misselbrook-Lovejoy Primary head 31/03/19 (extended to end March 19)

## 2. Extension of terms of office

- 2.1. The DfE's, *Schools Forum: Operational and good practice guide'*, September 2018, states that schools members and academies members do not need to have identical terms 'there may be a case for varied terms so that there is continuity of experience rather than there being a complete change in the membership at a single point'.
- 2.2. The guide also states, 'the term of office for each schools member and academies member should be stipulated by the local authority at the time of appointment', and, 'The length of term of office for non-schools members is at the discretion of the local authority.'
- 2.3. In the letters inviting nominations for schools places in autumn 2018, it was stated, 'In July 2006 the Council's Executive agreed that the term of office for all members should be 4 years, with the option of extending for one year.'

Contact Name: Jane Wright

Title: Schools and Early Years Governance Manager (clerk)

Tel: 020 7527 5560

Email: jane.wright@islington.gov.uk



Chair: Barrie O'Shea c/o Governor Services 222 Upper Street London N1 1XR

## **SCHOOLS FORUM**