

MEMBERS' ALLOWANCES SCHEME 2002/03

In line with paragraph 15 of the Local Authorities (Members' Allowances) (England) Regulations 2003, the total sum paid to councillors in the 2002/03 financial year under the Members' Allowances Scheme was as follows:

Basic Allowance

All councillors received an allowance of £8,500

Special Responsibility Allowance (SRA)

SRA's were paid as follows:

Band 4	Amount	£
Leader of the Council – Councillor Steve Hitchins	43,500	
Band 3		
Executive Members Councillor Bridget Fox Councillor James Kempton Councillor George Allan Councillor Meral Ece Councillor Paul Fox Councillor Arnie Gibbons Councillor Jyoti Vaja Councillor Laura Willoughby	31,500 31,500 31,500 31,500 31,500 31,500 31,500 31,500	
Chair of Overview Committee Councillor Ed Featherstone	31,500	
Band 2		
Chairs of Review Committees Councillor Keith Sharp Councillor Wally Burgess Councillor Graham Baker Chief Whip Councillor Terry Stacy	16,500 16,500 16,500 16,500	
Leader of the Opposition Councillor Mary Creagh	16,500	

	<u>Amount £</u>
Band 1	
Chair of Corporate Services Committee Councillor Joe Trotter	5,500
Chairs of Area Committees	
Councillor Heather Johnson	5,500
Councillor Marisha Ray	5,500
Councillor Anna Berent	5,500
Councillor Sylvia Wright	5,500
Opposition Whip	
Councillor Derek Sawyer	5,500
Majority Group Chair Councillor Jonathan Dearth	5,500
Mayor	
Councillor Margot Dunn	5,500

Dependent Carers' Allowance

The following councillors claimed the total amounts set out below:

Councillor Sidnell £1,134.20 Councillor Carol Powell £ 178.30 Councillor Catherine West £ 72.50

Travel and Subsistence Allowance

Travel and subsistence is claimable for journeys outside the borough. The following councillors claimed the total amounts for 2002/03 set out below:

	<u>Travel</u>	<u>Subsistence</u>
Councillor Angela Brook	£28.60	£64.10
Councillor Kempton	£240.93	-
Councillor Sawyer	£72.40	-
Councillor B. Smith	£46.20	-
Councillor West	£7.60	-
Councillor Willoughby	£233.00	

Dated this 21st August 2003

Helen Bailey Chief Executive Town Hall Upper Street London N1 2UD