page intro

Dignity in Care Awards

Islington's annual Dignity in Care Awards is now open to receive nominations. The awards celebrate the great work of staff employed in the care sector

Dignity in Care Awards 2017

Who is eligible for an award?

Any member of staff working in the care sector employed either directly by Islington Council or in one of their commissioned services is eligible.

Awards criteria 

The awards recognise the quality of support provided to people with care needs, with a particular focus on ensuring that anyone receiving care is able to retain their dignity at a vulnerable time in their lives.

Dignity is about treating people who need care with respect and enabling them to maintain the maximum possible level of independence, choice and control over their own lives.

How to nominate someone

The 2017 nominations are now closed. If you would like to nominate someone for the Dignity in Care Awards 2018, more information about how to make nominations for 2018 will be published later this year.

Anyone can nominate, but we particularly welcome service users, carers, family members, staff and partner organisations to participate and make sure we find the most deserving candidates.

Who decides who gets an award?

There is a judging panel made up of local leaders and stakeholders in Islington's care sector, including:

  • Age UK
  • Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing and Deputy Leader of the Council, Janet Burgess
  • Healthwatch
  • Islington Pensioners Forum representative
Was this information helpful?
  1. Please select