Voting and elections

Greater London Authority Elections


The very first Mayor of London and London Assembly Elections were held in 2000, after a referendum voted for a directly elected Mayor and Assembly for London. The elections are held every four years.

For full details of all the results for the Greater London Authority elections held on 3 May 2012 go to London Elects link.

North East Constituency of the London Assembly

Islington is part of the North East London Constituency for the London Assembly, which also contains the boroughs of Hackney and Waltham Forest. The current member for our constituency is Jennette Arnold, Labour Party.

The results of the previous London Mayor and Assembly elections are below. 

Mayor of London

Boris Johnson was re-elected Mayor of London on 4 May 2012.

Was this information helpful?
  1. Please select

  2. Data protection: We will handle your personal information in line with the Data Protection Act 1998 and in accordance with the council’s Fair Processing Notice.